The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Technical Theater and Taking the Show on the Road (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Beaudini Magic
View Profile
Loyal user
Ohio
259 Posts

Profile of Beaudini Magic
Hello Friends,

I have been performing magic and illusions for quite a few years now, and eventually hope to take my show on the road. I've been working on developing a solid script and characters along with my business plan, but could use some advice. While I've studied magic and business/show promotion quite a bit, I am in dire need of some solid theatrical knowledge. If there are any books you can reccomend on technical theater, stage lighting, set design, etc. that would be great. Also, I am always looking for books on script writing and character development. Thanks so much for your help. I am

Your Friend in Magic,

Beau Alexander
-Beau Alexander
"Make the Path, Others will Follow"
Kline
View Profile
Veteran user
361 Posts

Profile of Kline
Beau,
Wanna go out on the road with me ? I just gave a lecture at the World Magic Seminar on Show flow and production. Experience is the BEST teacher. Depending on where you live, there are usually summer theater programs that addrerss this topic.
Check the local community calander
Feel free to email me with any questions.
Steven
Steven Kline
<BR><BR>www.stevenkline.com
<BR><BR>www.stevenklineproductions.com
Follow me on Twitter
@steveklinemagic
George Ledo
View Profile
Magic Café Columnist
SF Bay Area
3042 Posts

Profile of George Ledo
There are lots of books on tech theater, set design, lighting, and so forth, but unfortunately the majority of them will turn you into a techie, not into a theater artist. I'm with Steven: find another guy who's toured a magic show successfully and pick his brains, and learn all you can, and then start planning your own tour.