The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello Everyone....You have a great place here. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Barnstormer
View Profile
Regular user
Batavia, Ohio
153 Posts

Profile of Barnstormer
Hello. My name is Tim. I hail from Batavia Ohio (just east of Cincinnati).

I work as a technical trainer teaching advanced X.500 systems, networking and security.

I use prestidigitation in class to illustrate to people concepts of security, deception and phishing.

I also regularly annoy my friends with it... Smile

My primary interest is in money magic as it is readily available and when you pull out a deck of cards everyone knows you are going to do a magic trick and suspect the cards.

I would like to explore mentalism but what I have encountered so far does not seem to adapt it self to a class or small party well or is very expensive or requires a collaborator.

I would love to spend more $$ on magic but my other hobbies are flying and motorcycling so the budget is well divided (sigh).

I became interested in doing magic in highschool when a friend took a serious interest in it and even began doing shows as a part-time job.

However, I got started myself in collage when I was working on my graduate degree in the Philosophy of Science. I was doing some work that required me to read up on Carl Sagan and I found him discussing the work of the Amazing Randi. I then started reading up on Randi visiting a magic shop on the Cincinnati sky-walk (now gone)and one thing led to another and now I am here.
London
View Profile
Special user
U.S.A.
769 Posts

Profile of London
Welcome to the Café Tim.

I am a mentalist based in Cincinnati. Maybe we could brainstorm some ideas for you to use in your class sometime. But for now ...welcome and learn all you can.

THOUGHTfully,
London
THOUGHTfully,

LONDON
themagiciansapprentice
View Profile
Inner circle
Essex, UK
1381 Posts