The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Difficulty with cups and balls (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Frenzy
View Profile
New user
Dublin, Ireland
6 Posts

Profile of Frenzy
Hi Everyone,
I'm relatively new to all this but one of the first sets I bought was the cups and ball routine. Seeing as I was starting off I didn't buy an expensive set. It was a metal coated plastic set of cups, a step above the coloured cups which were also available. My problem is that the red crotched ball reflects on the inside of the cup and can be seen by all.
Is there a way to dull down the inside to stop this happening or maybe another tip you could give me?
Cheers,
W
djkuttdecks
View Profile
Special user
Nashville
660 Posts

Profile of djkuttdecks
You could paint it black. However, not many routines for the effect should even grab a glimpse of the inside of the cup. This is a real "skill" trick, and takes practice practice practice... but its worth it Smile Glad to meet you, and welcome to the forums. This is a great place to learn and ask questions.

-DJ
FunTimeAl
View Profile
Special user
987 Posts

Profile of FunTimeAl
Hello Frenzy!

Welcome to the Café. If you are "flashing" the ball, you may want to consider how you present the effect to others.

If you are standing and you audience is standing, then this will minimize their ability to see inside the cup.

Performing the cups and balls from a seated position with a seated audience requires more skill (in my opinion). So, I would try working your routine standing (wear a jacket with pockets if you are doing any big finales) and get comfortable presenting this effect.

After performing it for a while, you may wish to have another go at performing from a seated position. Chances are, the practice will have improved your overall handling of the cups and your ability to minimizes flashes will be bang on the dot.
clarissa35f
View Profile