The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Release mechanism for escape (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
BBunnell
View Profile
Regular user
Utah
116 Posts

Profile of BBunnell
Hey guys,
We here in northern Utah are having our annual Northern Utah Magic !@#ociation's Escape from Reality show in August. I want to do a guillotine escape. In the past, I have had an "executioner" cut the rope that holds up the blade when the time runs out. However now I would like to have some sort of release mechanism attached to a timer. This would eliminate those in the audiance that will think that if time ran out before I escaped, the executioner wouldn't really cut the rope. Unfortunately I have no experience in making such a device. Could anyone help me or point me in the right direction?

Thanks a bunch,
Bruce
Your Friend in MAGIC
Bruce
numamagic@yahoo.com
www.numamagic.com
Kondini
View Profile
Inner circle
3609 Posts

Profile of Kondini
Have the blade held by a burning rope,,,,,burns through!! Plonk.
Safety extra would be plugs inserted above the neck stocks, auto release of the sectional rope (Usuall method) So no danger.

Ken.
dave_matkin
View Profile
Inner circle
4522 Posts

Profile of dave_matkin
Sounds good to me and if ken said so I would go with that ...... but I wold jump of a cliff if ken said it was a good idea Smile - although it does depend on whats below the cliff ..........
mark2004
View Profile
Loyal user
UK
215 Posts

Profile of mark2004
Quote:
On 2008-05-28 03:15, BBunnell wrote:
However now I would like to have some sort of release mechanism attached to a timer.

Richard Sherry has a timer mechanism for sale, which sounds like it's designed to do exactly what you need.

http://www.richardsherrysmagic.com/access/access.html
Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2491 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37