The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Motivation (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Magician
View Profile
Loyal user
Liverpool
267 Posts

Profile of The Magician
Hi all, I am just starting out in magic and I have a few Books,Tricks, and Videos, but what I want to know is how do you guys get motivated to learn magic.

Best Regards,

The Magician Smile
The Magician

Expect the Unexpected
Daniel J. Ferrara Jr.
View Profile
Regular user
Long Island, New York
182 Posts

Profile of Daniel J. Ferrara Jr.
Choose a trick that fooled you the first time you saw it performed. Practice it until you can do it perfectly. Now perform it for a friend and watch their reaction. After you get that feeling of being "Magical", you will be motivated. However, I must warn you. Once you have the "bug", motivating yourself won't be the problem. You won't be able to stop practicing.
manipulator
View Profile
Veteran user
Houston, Texas
319 Posts

Profile of manipulator
I get motivated by the reactions of the spectators. Smile
John Clarkson
View Profile
Special user
Santa Barbara, CA
749 Posts

Profile of John Clarkson
I am motivated by how much magic teaches me about myself and other members of the human race. Magic works because of biases we have accumulated over the years-- I find it fascinating to be confronted with those biases. It keeps me humble to realize how easily my senses and my thoughts are misled.

There is also a comradeship among magicians that is motivating. I was very fortunate as a young magician to have some truly greats (some now truly deads!) share their experience and knowledge with me.

In addition, the relationship with my audience is exhiliarating: there is a bond between a good magician and his/her audience... the fondess of co-conspirators exploring the frailties of human perception in a non-threatening way.

Smile
John D. Clarkson, S.O.B. (Sacred Omphaloskeptic Brotherhood)