The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Latest and Greatest? » » Bobby Motta's Lethal (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
The Old Man
View Profile
Regular user
137 Posts

Profile of The Old Man
As you can see I am a fairly new poster. I also am not a professional magician. I am a hobbyist who's been involved in magic on and off for over 45 years. Today I received a PM from Steve with a link to this trick. I have real problems with it.

I don't think the way this trick plays with the volunteer is right. We have all seen the failed spike under three Styrofoam cup trick youtube video. This shows a woman volunteer having her hand impaled on the spike. During the trick she was showing a high level of anxiety--some of which we see from the volunteers in the Lethal video. Why put this kind of pressure on someone? Why should they trust that the magician--an unknown person to them--won't injure them? Because they know the trick's in the protector and they can't get hurt? I don't think so.

I heard on Itrick's podcast Angel's producer (?) talking about how Copperfield was a bit gay compared to his man. I guess we're suppose to be moving into a time of macho magic ala Angel, Blaine etc--on the street, grunge, and in your face. Perhaps this is a separate topic but I think it's all part of the same mindset. Yeah, we don't need the elegance of Tommy Wonder, the humor and style of an old man like Jay Marshall, or even the great story telling of Ricky Jay. Thank God Slydini, Cardini and Vernon are dead--how would they make it today?
Harv
View Profile
Inner circle
I'm building a fence with
1127 Posts

Profile of Harv
No knives in my show...at any time for any one. Especially $1195 knives (or was that supposed to be $11.95?)
p:m
View Profile
Loyal user
Toronto, Canada
230 Posts

Profile of p:m
The Old Man,