The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Copper/Silver/Brass or Two Copper/One Silver? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

karnak
View Profile
Special user
Connecticut
747 Posts

Profile of karnak
Newbie here (hello!), trying to ensure I fully grasp the difference between (while trying to decide between purchasing) a C/S/B set and a 2C/1S set.

Without giving anything away... would it be correct to say that the main difference between these two gaffed coin sets basically just boils down to the presence of a Chinese coin in the former vs. a Mexican centavo in the latter?

(This is assuming the other two coins, in both sets, are a U.S. half dollar and an English penny. That is, the C/S/B set = English penny/half dollar/Chinese coin, whereas the 2C/1S set = English penny/half dollar/Mexican centavo. [I realize that some -- maybe most -- C/S/B sets these days seem to use, for their "C," a centavo instead of a penny....])

Is that the only difference between these sets? Are they otherwise pretty much the same thing, operating in essentially the same fashion?

If so, then would I be safe in assuming that most effects and routines for the C/S/B set would be more or less interchangeable (or easily adaptable) for use with a 2C/1/S set? And vice versa?

If you have one, do you really need the other (unless you for some reason really want or need to use a Chinese coin in one routine, and a Mexican centavo in another routine)? Do most people have both sets, for instance?

Just trying to ensure I'm not missing something here, and am making as informed a purchase decision as a newbie can reasonably make!

Thanks in advance for any/all clarifications, insights, etc.
For a supernatural chiller mixing magic (prestidigitation, legerdemain) with Magic (occultism, mysticism), check out my novel MAGIC: AN OCCULT THRILLER at http://www.amazon.com/Magic-Occult-Thriller-Reed-Hall/dp/1453874836
rutabaga