The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Trouble (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

trickychaz
View Profile
Special user
West Virginia
549 Posts

Profile of trickychaz
I have been working on card manipulation for about 3 years, and just recently ran into a problem.

It seems that the cards are slipping out of my pinkey when switching from fans to singles. Its almost like my hand have become crippled all of the sudden. It really urgs me because its a big part of my skill for my act I plan to compete with soon.

Any Advice?

Chaz
Anatole
View Profile
Inner circle
1912 Posts

Profile of Anatole
I think losing the pinkey grip is a typical problem the first time most of us tried producing singles. At least, I remember when I first started (more than 40 years ago) it was one of my stumbling blocks as well.

I'm not sure if the following technique is unique with me or not, but I offer it for your consideration:
1. I think most manipulators produce singles by using the thumb to reach between forefinger and second finger to pull on the lower index corner of a card so that the corner between the little finger and ring finger is freed first. Then the freed card is pulled between forefinger and second finger and then into view.
2. When I produce singles, my thumb reaches _over_ the forefinger and presses down on the card to free the index corner (between first finger and second finger) first. But instead of immediately pulling the card into view, I let the natural "springiness" of the card straighten it just a little so that the index corner is actually pressing against the forefingernail.