The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Greetings to all! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Capt. Coins
View Profile
New user
27 Posts

Profile of Capt. Coins
Hello!
I am a 38 year old hobbyist,living in Houston, TX. Got into magic about 15 years ago. I've been a magician in remission for a while now, but I got the fever again about 6 months ago. I love all magic, but slight of hand with coins is my main thing. Recently mastered Ammar's modified Retention vanish with both hands, a Spellbound routine with 5 changes, and I'm working on back-clips and the Muscle Pass right now.
I recently discovered this board, and I'm very grateful for it. It's an excellent way to consult other magicians when you hardly know any!
Best wishes to all,
Geoff Roberts AKA Capt. Coins Smile
Josh the Superfluous
View Profile
Inner circle
The man of
1881 Posts

Profile of Josh the Superfluous
Greetings Capt.
Where did you learn Ammar's modified retention? It doesn't sound familiar to me.
-Josh
What do you want in a site? "Honesty, integrity and decency." -Mike Doogan
"I hate it, I hate my ironic lovechild. I didn't even have anything to do with it" Josh #2
Capt. Coins
View Profile
New user
27 Posts

Profile of Capt. Coins
Hi Josh! Got the move from the book The Magic of Michael Ammar, page 33. It's basically a retention vanish, but it leaves the coin clipped between the 2nd and 3rd fingertips rather than at a fingertip rest. The move has a little more economy of motion than the standard Retention Vanish, making it very deceptive; the hand comes away looking quite a bit more like the position it was in at the moment of cover.
Also in the book is his Ultimate One-Finger Spellbound, which I use to start the above mentioned routine. Great stuff!
Again, pleased to meet you, and lemmee know if you require more info on the move. Smile
Mago Mai
View Profile
Elite user
Venezuela
485 Posts

Profile of Mago Mai