The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Question about montes and sleights in general... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

B-Nelley
View Profile
New user
Philadelphia
10 Posts

Profile of B-Nelley
I'm new to magic, but after buying color monte I have learned 2-3 sleights that I find useful. Sometimes I don't do them perfectly, like on the part where you put the top and bottom cards together to make it look like the top it might stick out just a tad. If I'm doing this to an audience would they even notice it if I had a good performance/quick moves or do I need to get it PERFECT? It seems things that seem kind of obvious to me go right through a spectator's mind. So just let me know what your thoughts are.
gocall911
View Profile
Loyal user
Salem, VA
247 Posts

Profile of gocall911
You really need all that you said: performance, quick moves, and you need to have it perfect if you want it to be just right. Yes, maybe you can fool people otherwise but I suggest getting it all the way down before you try it out. I know it is hard not to because you just want to get out there and shock people but you will get them all the more the better you have it down.
"Use your head." ~Dai Vernon~
Paul Menzel
View Profile
Special user
Boise, Idaho
530 Posts

Profile of Paul Menzel
They may not tell you if they see something suspicious and many people will not notice, but it is far better to practice and rehearse until you are able to perform smoothly and without error. Accept that fact that you will make mistakes from time to time, but practice will minimize the risks.