The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Influences? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
David White
View Profile
Regular user
111 Posts

Profile of David White
Beginners, who are your biggest influences? What professional excited you about getting started in magic?

I'm curious about this as I'll be writing an article on the subject for a foreign magazine.

Thanks.
MikeyM71
View Profile
Regular user
Chesapeake, OH
153 Posts

Profile of MikeyM71
I was influenced by a magician who did a gig for the vacation bible school attended when I was 9 years old. He was a member of the church and problably did it for free. A hanky vanish, a couple coin tricks, and man, I was hooked.
<BR>Mikey M.
Bendy
View Profile
Special user
Columbus, Ohio
508 Posts

Profile of Bendy
I'm not a beginner; but I certainly know those who inspired me to get involved with magic. During my childhood, it was Doug Henning and David Copperfield. I never missed any of their specials. My love for those shows caused my Dad to buy me a magic kit for Christmas one year. I don't remember anything else I got that Christmas; but I'll never forget that magic kit.

Then, in my early adult years, I worked with a guy who was a part-time professional magician and whose father was a professional magician. He performed illusions for me at work and I'd never before seen "close-up" magic like that. Wanting to make others feel the wonder and amazement I felt after having watched and/or participated in illusions is what made me move from spectator/fan to actually performing magic.
Bob Johnston
View Profile
Inner circle
Philadelphia, PA
1251 Posts

Profile of Bob Johnston
David White:

Many magicians started their interest in magic from watching non-professionals, like an uncle or another child.

Bob
eugenio
View Profile
New user
London
12 Posts

Profile of eugenio