The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » First routine (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Irfaan
View Profile
New user
South Africa
56 Posts

Profile of Irfaan
Hi Everybody

This is my first post ever in a magic forum, so forgive me if I ask a stupid question.
I am an amateur, I've performed for friends, colleagues, and a few Bed & Breakfasts due to popular demand (it's like they've never seen a card trick before!).

However, being an amateur (I've first started with magic about a year ago), I made the mistake I guess most amateurs make - I tried to learn everything and do everything at once. I must have attempted hundreds of effects, practiced tons of manipulations over the last year - with the inevitable result that I messed up in front of somebody at least half the time (sorry).

Now, I'm considering performing professionally. I've taken the advice in books and picked out just a few effects, structured them into a routine, and refuse to perform them in front of anybody until I can do so blindfolded!!

I've put together 12 effects (too much??) and so far have mastered about 8 of them. It's a combination of stand-up and sit-down effects, a nice mix of coin / card and other, to sort of cater for different situations.

My question (finally), is your opinion of the effects, i.e. too many / too few / the variety / etc. You guys are real magicians (I've never actually met one in real life!), and I certainly will respect and take to heart your comments and feed back.

The routine (in order of performance):
1) Steve Fearson's Floating Cigarette
2) Color Stunner – Art of Astonishment Vol 1.
3) Tap Dancing Aces – Art of Astonishment Vol 3.
4) Invisible Palm – Art of Astonishment Vol 3.
5) WOW!
6) Recap – Art of Astonishment Vol 1.
7) Cups and Balls – Tommy Wonder; Books of Wonder Vol 2.
8) 3 Ball Transposition – Lewis Ganson; Dai Vernon Book of Magic.
9) Stowaway - My own four coin effect