The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Tips for tomorow- busking (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

aitchy
View Profile
Loyal user
222 Posts

Profile of aitchy
Hi all -

I have an audition to become a licenced street performer tomorow.
they check me as part of quality control etc

Ive only busked in the UK once and a few times in canada - always with mates- not solo-

I plan to do my gazzo style cups routeen plus 3-4 basic tricks (bill switch/invis deck/jumbo princess card trick)

and am just looking for some last moment tips and maybe even just some encouragement.

I am in my 4th year of university and want to busk to improve and make a bit of cash but I see my self being a "weekend warrior" a lot of the time - rather than full time street performer

Im happy with my skills level and the tricks - but I am used to performing at tables and walk arounds so I'm worried I wont be "big" enough to stop 150 people.
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
Get out from behind your table (if you have one)
focus on just a few tricks over and over.
watch your audience. when do the look away. when do they walk away. take notes.
be honest with yourself. if they walk, that part sucks. fix it, remove it, tell a joke, do something different.

a single person may approach. fine. but don't try to stop just one person. stop a group of 2 or more.

then find an excuse why you need to address an additional person that is walking by.

Most importantly, don't let it be the last time. Get out there again as soon as possible.

p.s. You're taking a step that few do. Regardless of what happens you're doing more than most would risk doing.
www.theambitiouscard.com Hand Crafted Magic
Trophy Husband, Father of the Year Candidate,
Chippendale's Dancer applicant, Unofficial World Record Holder.
Andy_Bell
View Profile
Regular user