The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Periods & styles of Magic » » Looking for a character (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magictvlv1
View Profile
New user
61 Posts

Profile of magictvlv1
I am trying to get back into magic and I am struggling with motivation and character. I don't want to be a magician in a tux. I don't want anything on my stage to look like it came from a magic shop. I have a southern accent, but frankly don't want to surround myself with country music... Although I did at one point consider a cowboy routine to the Lemonheads "My Big gay Heart."

My main interests are stage manipulation with cards, coins and balls. I've been doing my ball routine for 28 years... it is unique. Although I love illusions. I have a circus background, but frankly hate clowns... sorry clowns.

I know that in order to really grab an audience you have to show them something they have never seen before.

I don't know what direction I should walk.
Mr. Pitts
View Profile
Inner circle
David Pitts
1058 Posts

Profile of Mr. Pitts
Southern accent? I'd say a carnival pitchman or traveling con-man character maybe a place to start. Look at Ryan O'Neil's character in Paper Moon. A southern medicine show operator might offer some possibilities as a pattern to build on.
David Pitts
The Astonishing Mr. Pitts
Comedy Magician and Ventriloquist
http://www.mrpitts.com
Jeff Dial
View Profile
Special user
Kent, WA
533 Posts

Profile of Jeff Dial
The 9 Questions from Respect of Acting by Uta Hagen. This is from the world of acting, but answer these and you are well on your way to discovering/creating your stage persona.

1. Who am I?
2. What is the time?
3. Where am I?
4. What surrounds me?
5. What are my relationships?
6. What are the given circumstances?
7. What do I want? *
8. What is in my way? *
9. What do I do to get what I want? *

* Power questions
"Think our brains must be too highly trained, Majikthise" HHGG