The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Controlling where spectators look (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Kamaitachi
View Profile
New user
53 Posts

Profile of Kamaitachi
Hey,
I'm just starting out with magic, doing cards and coins by now. I'd like to know more about "controlling spectators", as in.. controlling where they look at, or what they do.
I heard about that "card to mouth" routine, see:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlAYoMYXZeM

After the "magic" is done, I'd like to keep his/their eyes on the deck for as long as possible. How would you manage to do it?

That card to mouth effect is a good way to practice this.. gaze controlling thing, isn't it?
Do you know of any other good effects which use this skill?

Also, if you do a sponge ball routine, you sometimes need them to close their hands without them double checking what's inside.
How would you make sure they don't do it?

Are those two priciples in any way related? Does it have a certain name in the magic scene? Like.. spectator control or such? Smile

Thanks in advance, and sorry for my english =)
-- Alex
Irfaan Kahan
View Profile
Veteran user
346 Posts

Profile of Irfaan Kahan
Seems to be two things here: Misdirection and Audience Management

Misdirection is when you "control" where the audience focuses their attention. E.g, you would use misdirection to make someone look at your face whilst your hand palms a card. Misdirection is a vast, complex, and most incredibly fun topic to learn.
I suggest you look up the masters. Tommy Wonder's Books of Wonder comes to mind. Also Eugene Burger. Misdirection can only be perfected by messing up in front of people - but once you get it right 90%+ of the time you will be having tons of fun with it.