The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How much should I charge for a kids show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bigboymagic
View Profile
New user
Dallas, TX
26 Posts

Profile of Bigboymagic
I have been doing magic for alittle over a year I decided to buy some tricks to show my 5 year old then I couldn't stop buying them. To make a long story short I was asked if I could volunteer to do a magic show at her school carnival, there I was asked for my number and all my inforrmation from several parents on how to get in touch with me but now I'm not sure how much to charge them because I'm not a proffesional like most of you are does anyone have any advice?
Make it a great day or not the choice is yours.
~bigboymagic~
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Apparently several people at the carnival thought you were pretty good. How long is your show? What all do you do? Who will you be performing for? How old are you?

It's hard to say how much to charge - there are so many factors involved. If you're young but feel you're accomplished, I would start by quoting $50.00. See how this goes. Most parents will spend $50 fairly easy - especially if it's for one of their kids.

If you find you're getting busy, up your price to $60 or $75.00. The only way to find out what to charge is to experiment like this until you hit on something that works for you.

Jim
Bigboymagic
View Profile
New user
Dallas, TX
26 Posts

Profile of Bigboymagic
I am 28 years old I could probably take about 30 to 45 min performing the only thing is that I have trouble making up a routine or how to lead one trick into another some of the tricks I perform are:
Stratosphere
Lotabowl
Dove pan (which I usually produce lollipops for the kids)
Flower boxes in a bag
Cardiographic
Coloring book
Sponge bunnies
Phsycic crayons
Hopping rabbitts
Robby racoon
Misers dream
Vanishing ketchup bottle