The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » What to use for clearcoat? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

marty.sasaki
View Profile
Inner circle
1117 Posts

Profile of marty.sasaki
I'll clean up my cups so that they are nice and shiny, let them gain some patina, then I want it to stop. What can be used to clearcoat the cup at that point?
Marty Sasaki
Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

Standard disclaimer: I'm just a hobbyist who enjoys occasionally mystifying friends and family, so my opinions should be viewed with this in mind.
Ethan Orr
View Profile
Regular user
Minneapolis
163 Posts

Profile of Ethan Orr
I believe there is some info about it here:

http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......um=115&8
gaddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Agent of Chaos
3234 Posts

Profile of gaddy
Paste wax
*due to The Magic Cafe's editorial policies, words on this site attributed to me cannot necessarily be held to be my own.*
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24275 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer
To be specific, carnauba wax. You may have to reapply it from time to time, but it is a much easier coating to maintain than epoxy or acrylic.
"The Swatter"

Founder of CODBAMMC

My Chickasaw name is "Throws Money at Cups."

www.cupsandballsmuseum.com
Dave V
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas, NV
4825 Posts

Profile of Dave V
I'd go with Bill's suggestion. Unless you're a pro painter with all the supplies and safety gear (many times the price of the cups) or know someone who has all this and knows how to use it, I'd stick with waxing.
No trees were killed in the making of this message, but a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
24275 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer