The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Now that’s funny! » » Do Comedy Clubs Hate Magicians? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Andrew Zuber
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles, CA
2652 Posts

Profile of Andrew Zuber
I started out doing stand up about nine years ago up in Seattle. When I realized I wasn't that funny, that's when I decided to start adding magic to the act to make it more appealing and to cover up my lack of humor.
I did four holiday shows up at my home club in Seattle this year, all using magic. I know the owner quite well and have frequented the club since I started, so I'm not a newbie to the stage up there.

When I emailed him about a booking for later this year, he said he'd have me back (he's always got a spot for me, I just email to confirm dates with him) be he said "no magic." Actually he said "no majic" but I digress. Have folks run into this? I didn't carry a very large set up...one small table in the corner of the stage, and I mean really small...about the same size as a hat on a cane. No fire, no confetti...just a few rope bits, a signed card-to-orange routine and a couple of other small gags.

I've also done magic in clubs down here in L.A. and gotten quite a nice reception. I had the DJ at one club get very excited when he saw me come back for a second date there because he loved that I had incorporated magic into the act.

What have people discovered as far as this is concerned? Seeing as how comedy is both in my background and embedded into my personality, I like doing shows in clubs, but I'm wondering if there are certain places where magicians are either welcomed or shunned?