The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Top 5 self-working, gaffless card effects (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
magicwanabe
View Profile
Regular user
156 Posts

Profile of magicwanabe
Hello again -- thanks for the great responses to my posts -- extremely helpful and informative. I realize that this topic has probably come up before -- the MC search engine is a little confusing to me -- but I would like some thoughts on the best "self-working" effects (if any) that "pros" use in their performances. Obviously I am new to all of this (and from what I have read at Magic Café I have already learned "loads"), but I have managed to find a few really impressive effects: Harry Lorayne's Stop and Out of This Universe, for example, from Classic Collection 1. Of course, I am still working on some of the classic sleights -- however, based on some of the videos that you have shared I know I have a very long way to go. Anyway, respond if you can -- it is very much appreciated!
CardWiz
View Profile
Special user
Charleston, SC
626 Posts

Profile of CardWiz
Hello Magicwanabe,

To be honest, I do not know much about this subject, so I did a search for you and.....

The most talked about books on the subject are Self Working Card Tricks by Carl Fulves (3 book series I think), which is cheap and includes simple and strong material, and Semi-automatic card tricks.....buy as many of these as you can..

Here are a few threads on the subject:

http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......&forum=2

About Carl Fulves book:
http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......orum=110

In my experience, my favorites are:
-Shufflecutdeal by Jay Sankey
-A bunch of stuff in Dear Mr. Fantasy by John Bannon (A Must have for any card magician)
-Untouched by Daryl
-Marlo's Ace cutting routine (not self working but very easy & impressive)
-Triple Coincidence