The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Getting permission for music (I know, I know!) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jonathan
View Profile
Inner circle
Oklahoma
1223 Posts

Profile of Jonathan
The info I've read on here is for licensing rights, which I believe I understand. What I'm curious about is getting permission from whomever owns the music and if you have to pay how much is typical.

1) I know many on here pooh pooh the idea of using royalty music. But, it's only a VERY small percentage of music that is known to most people. There's a ton of really great music that no more than one person in every show will have ever heard. And I'm familiar with royalty-free music as I was a feature film producer in another life. I've heard a ton of free music and have yet to find anything I liked!

2) What specific steps do I need to take to get permission and be worry free? (again, not worried about licensing by ASCAP/BMI. I found good info on that already)

3) How does it change for indie artists' music?
Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
View Profile
Special user
Toronto, Canada
803 Posts

Profile of Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
Hello, Jonathan!
Contact ASCAP, BMI, or Harry Fox, tell them what info you want, and they'll point you to the place with the right answers.
Dan McLean Jr
Jonathan
View Profile
Inner circle
Oklahoma
1223 Posts

Profile of Jonathan
I've heard that, but the only cantact stuff I can find on ASCAP is for licensing issues. :-/
View Profile
Special user
Toronto, Canada
803 Posts

Answers that you get here may not be reliable. Call ASCAP, BMI or Harry Fox, because although I don't think they do what you're looking for, if tell them what info you want, I think they'll point you to the place with the right answers. What they do is RELATED to what you want, so they will probably be able to point.
Dan McLean Jr
Jonathan
View Profile
Inner circle
Oklahoma
1223 Posts