The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » What happened, was this... » » No more parlor shows on weddings! HELP! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

WorkingMagi
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of WorkingMagi
Hi there.

I have a problem and I'd like some input.

I'm a professional magician. Been working more than 7 years now. I do close-up and parlor. 90% of my work is in the 30-50 people birthday kinda gig.

Whenever I do a parlor show @ a wedding, I FAIL. Alas, not a complete failure, the tricks go ok. The problem is my vibe and the connection with the audience. IT SUCKS.

This surprises me because I'm good. I'm actually a talented performer. There's something about the big place and the tables and the quantity of people usually found in a wedding that ****s me up completely. I fear this environment.
It is kind of a vicious circle which I don't know how to break. I fail @ entertaining because I'm afraid and I'm afraid because I fail @ entertaining.

I usually do VERY good at small, intimate gigs. The show is usually very funny and everybody is very pleased with my personality.

It's a known fact that wedding gigs are full of surprises. Sometimes the place where the party is held is designed in such a way that many tables can't see or hear you or there is poor lighting or your show is badly scheduled and, more often than not, NOBODY is interested in entertainment. They just want to drink and eat.

The easy way out would be to completely dismiss this type of gigs but honestly I'd like to master this arena too. Why? I guess that it's a money thing. I'd like to be able to perform for more than a hundred people. There's usually more money in this events.

Has anybody got any bad or good experiences in weddings that you'd like to share?
Any pointer on how to improve my game is appreciated.

Thanks!
RJE
View Profile
Inner circle
1848 Posts

Profile of RJE