The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Old School Tech: The Mini-Disk (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chezaday
View Profile
Inner circle
Naperville, IL
1670 Posts

Profile of Chezaday
Yes, I don't give up easily on something I like. My sound rack includes a Sony Mini-Disk deck. I've been using this for well over ten years with no problem .. until the other night.

For some reason it simply wouldn't read the disk. I fiddled with it and it worked for a bit. As a back up I always carry a portable Mini-Disk player .. and we managed to get through the show. For some reason the levels are just not the same with the portable, it has a very weak output.

When I returned home, sure enough the MD deck was working just fine. So .. do I trust it? Should I carry another rack? Do I replace my deck? What would you do?

I can't carry two of everything ..

Steve
g0thike
View Profile
Special user
722 Posts

Profile of g0thike
Steve,

What did you plug it into. Be specific......

G0THIKE
Michael Messing
View Profile
Inner circle
Knoxville, TN
1815 Posts

Profile of Michael Messing
Steve,

Did you try the deck with more than one disc? The discs can fail. If you have trouble with multiple discs, then it's the player. If it was just with one disc, try others in it. If they work consistently, it's probably the original disc.

You are quite correct about the levels in the portable players. In order to battery life (at least that's what I've read), Sony really backed off the levels on those. My two portable MD players only use a single AA battery and definitely do not have the output that my home deck does. I usually put them into mic input in my amp rather than a line input because of this.

Michael
Chezaday
View Profile
Inner circle
Naperville, IL
1670 Posts

Profile of Chezaday