The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » I don't think I'm being unreasonable.... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MagicSanta
View Profile
Inner circle
Northern Nevada
5841 Posts

Profile of MagicSanta
As anyone who reads my posts knows I work as a customer service type of computer techish type fellow for a big arse telecom company. I have fun doing it and every call, to me, is a performance and I have written jokes for different situations on calls. Now being a comic and writer I hate....HATE....when people steal my lines w/out asking if it is cool first. I don't mind sharing material to be honest with you but dang, show a bit of courtesy. I start noticing that people are using MY lines! Not only that but their timing sucks. I asked my boss if I could copyright my material but noooo, I then ask if I can at least do a seminar on timing and presentation, again noooo. What up with that? My lines have made me one of the top ten in possitive customer surveys in the facility (I got my numbers in three weeks against others who had the entire quarter), now I'm watching my material die!!

Here is an example of a stupid scripting I came up for when people want to register their account and they ask about filling in the four security questions:

"You can fill 'em all in but us guys use the same answer for everything, we are simple that way. For example on my security answers my dogs name is Elvis, my mothers name is Elvis, I was born in Elvis, and my favorite singer is Frank Sinatra".

Pretty good for customer service calls and those that get it like it and responde with possitive comments. Man you should hear people butcher that simple statement, they forget the punch!
Al Angello
View Profile
Eternal Order
Collegeville, Pa. USA
11045 Posts

Profile of Al Angello
Santa
I know exactly how you feel my kids use my lines on me all the time.
Al Angello The Comic Juggler/Magician