We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » When friends turn into hecklers (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

moechsle
View Profile
New user
Ĺrhus, Denmark
42 Posts

Profile of moechsle
Hi,

I'm a semi-professional magician in the sense that I get paid for doing magic for companies and private persons. I'm an amateur magician in the sense that my main income comes from my job in the IT industry.
This week I learned some valuable lessons I would like to share.
Just read the story and press the MISTAKE button whenever you spot one.

I was attending an IT conference with some colleagues and one of the nights we we're having a couple of beers at a bar.
All my colleagues know I'm a part time magician and at one time one of my them (which I will denote the Heckler) said: now you can tell me the explanation to the vanishing handkerchief. He has been asking me about this before and I have politely refused to give any answers.
Now he wanted to know. Instead I took out my deck and said I would like to show him some other magic.
UHNNNNNNNNK
Good. You pressed the MISTAKE button. Actually I already violated two of my own rules right there: I normally don't do magic for friends, family or colleagues. And I never do magic without being asked (or paid, of course) to do so.
So I had it coming. I should have known.
But instead I said, pick a card, any card. The heckler finally went for one but insisted on seeing the card before and after his chosen card. That was ok. When told to place the card on top of the cut deck he tried to insert it directly into it to 'fool me'. I managed to avoid this. As soon as I had done it he said "and now it's on top, right?" Actually it wasn't but I acted as if it was supposed to and showed him and my two other colleagues the wrong card. After this I went for a t** ch***e.
UHNNNNNNNNNNNNk