The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Learning basic card sleights (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

masterofthecoin
View Profile
New user
Michigan
13 Posts

Profile of masterofthecoin
Despite my screen name, I'm very interested in learning card sleights. I've got Royal Road to Card Magic, but I would also like to buy a video or DVD on card sleights. The problem is... there are way too many video's out there to choose from.
What video/DVD do you recommend, I get to learn the basics of card slights?

I'm a beginner, but want to become one of those guys who can take a deck of cards and do crazy things with it... just a little dream of mine. Smile ....So, what should I get?
Ray Eldard
View Profile
New user
Phoenix, AZ
90 Posts

Profile of Ray Eldard
It's admirable that you're looking for a tape on sleights rather than effects. Richard Kaufman has a nice video that I believe is called Basic Card Sleights or Basic Card Moves, something Basic, that is a nice starting point.

Also, Giobbi's Card College books are a fantastic resource. I know you asked about vidoes, but they're still worth mentioning.
Paul
View Profile
Inner circle
A good lecturer at your service!
4391 Posts

Profile of Paul
Well, until Expert Card Technique comes out on video or DVD...

I feel many of the videos/DVD's show, rather than truly teach many sleights. But actually seeing the move done can be helpful. However, I am sure more qualified video watchers will give you some excellent suggestions.

I would recommend the books, Expert Card Technique by Hugard and Braue and the Card College series by Roberto Giobbi. Apart from giving you the sleights they give examples of tricks using them, and sleights are best learned as part of an effect then you have a practical use for them from the start.

Paul Hallas
The Pianoman
View Profile
Veteran user
Lliving in Scotland.
334 Posts

Profile of The Pianoman