The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » The "T" word (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
teedpop
View Profile
New user
Check out my
91 Posts

Profile of teedpop
I know I'm a newbie but here is some advice:
NEVER say the word trick, and here is why-
1. It sounds cheap.
2. We don't do "Tricks".

I mean seriously I hate being tricked. don't you?

-teed
davidpaul$
View Profile
Inner circle
Pittsburgh, Pa
2927 Posts

Profile of davidpaul$
I agree...Whenever I hear "Let me show you a "trick" I cringe. Rather, as Eugene Burger states..."Let me show you something amazing" sounds much better and much more professional.
If you can't help worrying, remember worrying can't help you!
HerbLarry
View Profile
Special user
Poof!
731 Posts

Profile of HerbLarry
There are many things I don't get to define.
What I do is one of them.
I can label it and people will call it what they want, and they are correct.
So when someone says "I liked your tricks" and hands me money I always acquiesce.
To do otherwise would be rather Black & Decker.

Also when in Rome...
You know why don't act naive.
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder
One of my "tricks" was useful for instruction of those who would invariably ask me to "do a trick." I'd offer them a piece of chewing gum... from a snapping gum pack. When they got caught, I would say, "THAT'S a trick." Then I would ask them to call out the name of a card as I reset the snapper. As soon as they said the name of the card aloud, I would thrust the snapper out into the air and apparently snap a card... their chosen card... from the air. "THAT'S magic," I would say. "Do you want me to show you TRICKS or MAGIC?" I was prepared to go either way with a "Joy Buzzer" TRICK or a business card MAGIC effect.
Professor Spellbinder