The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Principals of Misdirection - I want more!!! (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Jason Fox
View Profile
New user
Washington, D.C.
48 Posts

Profile of Jason Fox
I've been doing magic for almost 10 years and I'm trying to audit every single move I do when I perform a trick or routine. I'm looking for books and DVDs on misdirection, the psychology behind gestures and sleights, the art of body language for magicians. I've studied all of my favorite magicians to the point where I realized that most of the greats teach the tricks but they are so very disciplined they don't even realize some of the subtle things they do to misdirect peoples attention. I'm really into psychology and human interactions so even if it's a text book let me know and I'll check it out.

I've read:
The definitive guide to body language
Magic and showmanship
Pick pocketing for fun and for profit
David stone's real secrets of magic vol 1&2
and some others, but all recommendations are welcome
The Burnaby Kid
View Profile
Inner circle
St. John's, Canada
3158 Posts

Profile of The Burnaby Kid
John Ramsay, Tommy Wonder and Gary Kurtz (specifically, "Leading with your Head") should give you plenty to go on for the rest of your life.
JACK, the Jolly Almanac of Card Knavery, a free card magic resource for beginners.
stijnhommes
View Profile
Special user
568 Posts

Profile of stijnhommes
Although it's primarily about other stuff. Darwin Ortiz's "Designing Miracles" touches on why misdirection works and discusses misdirection in both time and space.
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder