The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Where to put it all... » » Cigarette purse (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicjack1977
View Profile
Loyal user
Louisville, KY
213 Posts

Profile of magicjack1977
I have been practicing magic off and on since the late 1980's when I got a Houdini magic kit for my birthday, but have been practicing and performing seriously for the last 8 years. I used to be of the mindset that "bigger and flashier was better" when it came to magic. I felt that the "pick a card" card tricks were passe and that what spectators really wanted to see was gimmicks - things that required little skill to perform but looked amazing and impossible once performed. I used to walk around with my pockets stuffed full of crap that I now look at as ridiculous. It got so bad that I actually began carrying my stuff around in a backpack. I spent thousands of dollars on ever-more elaborate props and gimmicks claiming to "blow your audience away". It got to the point when I realized that I was carrying around too much stuff and I had more gimmicks and props than I knew what to do with and I began to feel bad because I was moving further and further away from the "art" as I spent less and less time practicing sleights or reading and spent more and more time looking for the next big gimmick.