The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Ideas to start up business (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Close.Up.Dave
View Profile
Inner circle
Behind you!
2914 Posts

Profile of Close.Up.Dave
I have always been into magic as a hobby and for extra money. I've been performing in restaurants for many years and did shows whenever they came my way. Since I moved to college I'm in a smaller town but I have a much wider market because there is a real lack of serious magicians. So I've decided to start treating magic more of a business than I have in the past. I was wondering what people would consider as helpful or necessary things to start picking up business. The obvious ones I can think of and have are:

Well rehearsed magic show sets (obviously)
A phone number to be reached at
Business Cards
A facebook group
Promotional pictures (although I'm going to get updated ones within the next few weeks)
A weekly restaurant gig to meet potential clients

I'm going to work on making flyers, a promotional video, and hopefully soon a website. Anyone have any other tips or ideas? Thanks!
trickychaz
View Profile
Special user
West Virginia
549 Posts

Profile of trickychaz
The restaurant should bring in a 3 or more gigs per month if you handle it correctly.
Close.Up.Dave
View Profile
Inner circle
Behind you!
2914 Posts

Profile of Close.Up.Dave
Quote:
On 2010-01-18 22:02, trickychaz wrote:
The restaurant should bring in a 3 or more gigs per month if you handle it correctly.

The pub is in a college town, I know my peers and they are not looking to hire anyone for anything unless you accept payment from a keg.

But, there the town, and surrounding towns, have a large market for kids shows and for the adults that like to attend the wineries (which I hope to work in once the spring comes). The private events I hope to get are going to be aimed at the audiences looking to hire a magician.
Steve_Mollett