The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Never rush.... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Brad Burt
View Profile
Inner circle
2675 Posts

Profile of Brad Burt
Never rush from one presentation to the next. Give the audience time to experience what they have just perceived as 'other'.

Best,
Brad Burt
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3629 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Good advice Brad. Also, never rush the presentation itself. I have to constantly remind myself to slow down.

Jim
BenSimon
View Profile
Regular user
Munich, Germany
137 Posts

Profile of BenSimon
Despite of being a beginner I can only agree. Insecurity about the impact of the current effect often led me to rush into the next. I wasn't sure whether I had somehow failed, flashed, or bored the spectators, and tríed to cover up with the next effect, while often they only were in the process of registering what they'd just witnessed, which I misinterpreted as a reaction not being present. (Sometimes I did fail, though Smile) I force myself to wait a while and actually look for reactions instead of anticipating them. Rehearsal and confidence helps. Always good advice, thanks.
DWRackley
View Profile
Inner circle
Chattanooga, TN
1909 Posts

Profile of DWRackley
That’s one of the hardest things to learn in any presentation, especially Magic. Throughout your performance, you are building a kind of tension, whether drama, boredom, suspense, or whatever, and (hopefully) building toward a climax. Once you have arrived at the moment, your audience is actually looking for a release. It is you who will allow (or not allow in certain specific cases) them to relax into applause.