The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Dvd, Video tape, Audio tape & Compact discs. » » Brad Burt's Billiard Ball and Thimble DVD - my review (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Mr. Woolery
View Profile
Inner circle
Fairbanks, AK
1873 Posts

Profile of Mr. Woolery
Okay, where I'm coming from is important in a review. I'm not a pro. I'm a guy who likes to entertain kids and volunteers at a school where I get to share a few minutes of wonder with kids in between doing math evaluations, reading help, luch setup, and recess duty. So for me an instruction program should offer me a good solid handle on some useful skills without being something that will take me a decade to learn well enough to present.

I don't know exactly why the billiard balls appeal to me, but I've loved them since I was a kid. So, I finally got a DVD on doing the billiard balls and a set of the silver Vernet balls. The video is Brad Burt's.

Overall: 9/10 for me.

Breaking it into reviews on the ball sequence and the thimble sequence seems logical to me.

Balls:

Instruction is well structured, several very good sleights are shown repeatedly from different angles. The basic routine he teaches is also a good solid routine. He does not vanish all the balls at the end and has a logical reason for it. Still, I would want to vanish them. For me, it is all about being able to state that they are an illusion in the first place. There's plenty of good information on ball work, so I would not anticipate any trouble with working that into my eventual routine. I'm still working on the basic vanishes and productions, so don't have a routine developed from this information yet.