The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Video- Busking in State College, PA (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TristanBuckley
View Profile
New user
45 Posts

Profile of TristanBuckley
Hey, I'm new to magic (started in May) and busking (started in October), and I'm working in State College, PA for pocket money while I work on my Film/Video degree.

I asked my girlfriend to record one of my performances today, so although I don't expect to enjoy it, I want the Long Beach Mystics treatment- watch, then criticize.

Although I do want complete honesty, I'd also prefer it if you'd please refrain from non-constructive criticism. I have complete confidence that this will not be a problem for the fine people on this forum. Thanks!

By the way, yes, I'm using the Gazzo cups and balls, no, I don't think I'm doing it line-for-line, and I'm always working on making it my own. I use a few stock lines, my favorite ones, and I made $54.00 today -- a personal record.

So let me know what you think!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9w6Nfemz_kc
Chance
View Profile
Inner circle
1385 Posts

Profile of Chance
Hope your skin is thick.

In less than 8 minutes you said:

"Any way" 1 time,

"K?" 7 times, and

"All right?" 35 times.

IMHO, none of them were required. Never ask, tell. Assert yourself. Every single time you say these words you are telling your audience that you lack self confidence and are unsure of how to act in front of them -- even if you do.

The stand looks like you stole it from a hospital. Invest your $54 in a proper stand and top. And the top should be twice as big as this one.

Train your voice. Practice speaking just like you practice your chops. For the first 2 minutes I thought you were a woman.
TristanBuckley
View Profile
New user
45 Posts

Right, I think my skin is thick enough. Thanks for the advice!
TristanBuckley
View Profile
New user
45 Posts