The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Big show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mindfreak2.0
View Profile
Regular user
101 Posts

Profile of mindfreak2.0
In about a week, I'm going to be doing a show for roughly 200-300 people on a raised stage. This is my first time performing on a raised stage and in front of an audience of this size and was wondering if anybody could offer some tips on the subject. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3629 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Make sure your first effect is something you can do in your sleep. "Aceing" the first effect will give you all the confidence you need to calm the jitters and continue with a spectacular show.

Jim
Metatron
View Profile
Elite user
Port Orchard, Washington
436 Posts

Profile of Metatron
I would see if you can do a few practices runs on the stage a day or two before. This will help you get used to your performance area. Bring a couple people to sit in the audience at different places. Have them move to the sides and back of sitting areas to see if all is OK.

Remember to try to make Eye contact with different areas not just stare straight ahead. Use the stage, don't just stand in the middle and not move. Depending on the seating arrangements, when displaying an object you may have to pan, or slowly turn, to let both sides of the audience see. Project yourself, voice slightly louder, motions slightly larger ... Butterflys, Shaking and Nerves are NORMAL, it's adrenalin, just try to relax.

Remember to breathe! Smile

Have fun,

Metatron
mmreed
View Profile
Inner circle
Harrisburg, PA
1432 Posts

Profile of mmreed
Breathe.