The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Starting Out (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

konradz
View Profile
New user
62 Posts

Profile of konradz
Hi all I am looking for advice to set me on the right path.

I am new to magic, but I feel if I have advice on where to be headed from the very beginning it will help me a lot. I have been a hobbyist for some time (couple years) but I never took it seriously. I was mainly an ellusionist kid (*ashamed face*) who just learned the newest hype of a trick and not very well. But I now I wish to learn fewer tricks, but learn them well.

Recently I decided to start getting serious. But at least what I learned is what kind of magic I enjoy: card magic. I do have high hopes to have a career out of this but I have no clue how to get there really. Currently I am just practicing and making my card sleights as perfect as possible. I will (in time) open up repertoire to other areas, but for now I am focusing on cards.

So, thy wise folk out there, where do I go from here? Some concrete advice would really help me figure out a "path".

Some background info about myself. I am a 20 year old student currently studying computer science and statistics at the University of Waterloo. My other hobbies/abilities are boomeranging (who have you heard ever say that before =P).
criverstamu09
View Profile
New user
88 Posts

Profile of criverstamu09
What I'm getting from your post is that you've found out you like magic enough to start performing and you know what type of magic you lie, but you feel completely lost on how to start, right?

Well it's pretty simple. You're at a university, so start letting people know that you're a magician and that you are available for events. Try looking at things like parties that different departments have or events that student organizations host.