The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magazine for Intermediate Magicians? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Doctor Xombie
View Profile
Regular user
FL (formerly Planet X)
109 Posts

Profile of Doctor Xombie
I would have posted in the 'The Magazine Rack' but it doesn't seem to have a 'general' forum for something not directly related to a specific magazine.

OK, I'm not a total beginner but I am not advanced or a professional either.
Is there a magazine geared toward someone of my skill level? Someone who does this not as a regular job and does not want to get inundated by adverts for pro illusions and and articles about stuff I'll never use?

Thanx
-Roger "The Doctor"

Doctor Xombie & Roger Boyes -Author
Spellbinder
View Profile
Inner circle
The Holy City of East Orange, NJ
6438 Posts

Profile of Spellbinder
The day of the magic magazine that was actually about magic, instead of about celebrity magicians and advertisements for the latest props, has long gone. That's why I started the Wizards' Journal. Not only is it JUST about magic, but you can order each issue entire, or in bits and pieces and put together your own "magazine" with just the tricks you are interested in.
Professor Spellbinder

Professor Emeritus at the Turkey Buzzard Academy of Magik, Witchcraft and Wizardry

http://www.magicnook.com

Publisher of The Wizards' Journals
stijnhommes
View Profile
Special user
568 Posts

Profile of stijnhommes
It depends a lot on what you call intermediate. There are a lot of non-professional magicians who have professional skill and an equal lot of professional ones who earn money with magic but have less skill. If I were you, I would challenge myself and try anything that isn't geared at beginners.