The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Steinmeyers: Three space Mystery (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Edgar Alstad
View Profile
New user
Levanger, Norway
95 Posts

Profile of Edgar Alstad
Hi

I'm pretty new to illusions and I'm doing some research to find a practical illusion to build (or to have someone build it for me).
I did just come across the Three-Space Mystery from Steinmeyers Conjuring Anthology. To me, this seems like a practical and good illusion, which is also angle-proof.
But I've yet to find any pictures, videos or even comments on this illusion.

Is anyone familiar with it and can give me some thoughts on it?
61magic
View Profile
Special user
Sacramento California
775 Posts

Profile of 61magic
Edgar, any illusion using the same optical principal the Three-Space Mystery is will have some angle, and/or lighting problems.
The biggest mistake magicians make when they are new to illusions is selecting something and investing in it only to find the illusion not a good fit for the typical venue they perform in.

Illusions that take too many assistants, require a lot of rigging, or illusions needing angle and lighting control limit the places you can perform in.
This is exactly why the Sub Trunk, Sword Basket, Zig Zag and Broom Suspension are so popular to starting illusionists.

To answer your question the Three-Space Mystery is a cool illusion but not practical for all venues. Performance wise you will get more mileage from a Zig Zag, Modern Art, etc. .... If you are looking to start building something simple like a Cutting in Sixths is a good place to start.
Professor J. P. Fawkes
briansmagic
View Profile
Special user
USA
507 Posts

Profile of briansmagic