The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Magic Clubs? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

outsider-80
View Profile
New user
78 Posts

Profile of outsider-80
I'm new to magic. I've always loved it but just recently began practicing it last November and was just wondering about the necessity of joining a Magic "club" such as IBM or SAM. Is this something that all magicians who are successful have done? Can someone ever be taken seriously without joining an organization such as these. Just curious. I can see where they would be helpful but I've never really been the fraternal organization type.
Bryan Smith
View Profile
New user
Korea
99 Posts

Profile of Bryan Smith
You definitely don't need to belong to any magic clubs to be successful. However, it is very good to make friends with other magicians and find people who can act as mentors. Whether you find that through a magic club or some other way doesn't matter.
"I'm half drunk most the time
and I'm all drunk the rest"
--Tom Waits
themagiciansapprentice
View Profile
Inner circle
Essex, UK
1381 Posts

Profile of themagiciansapprentice
For three years I wasn't in a country where I could join a Magic Club.

Now I'm back in the UK I've started going along to a local club and do find it strange (I'm not into the latest gimmicks or cards) but useful. I get a new idea each time how to improve one of my routines.
Have wand will travel! Performing children's magic in the UK for Winter 2014 and Spring 2015.
DWRackley
View Profile
Inner circle
Chattanooga, TN
1909 Posts

Profile of DWRackley
I don’t know that “fraternity” is the best use of the word in this case. You’re not going to be pledging fealty to another’s health, home, and happiness (although there might be a party or two). Some great friendships can (and will) come from groups like this, but generally the focus is on the Magic and how to do it better.