The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » I'm new to magic but I'm really struggling (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

minusthebear
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of minusthebear
Right now I am practicing card handling, i.e. flourishes, forces, holds, and shuffles before I move onto tricks. I've bought a lot of resources like Oz Pearlman's born to perform, etc. However, I'm kind of struggling.

I'm really interested in cards and mentalism namely because I want to get into street magic, but I don't know where to start. I begin learning a trick, perform it a couple times but then I want to learn something new. I don't know how often I should be practicing a single trick and the like, I'm just so eager to learn something new to show people another trick.

I'm going to get Wilson's complete course and 13 steps to mentalism, but I guess I just don't really know where to start or how long I should spend on a single trick. I know it should be, "till you have it down." However, even when I think I have it down, if I go to perform it, my hands start shaking, and my handling gets all messed up. I also tend to forget them because I'm moving to fast. Like, I understand the general concept but I really am moving so fast.

What do you recommend on average for tricks? I'm also planning to get some more self-working impromptu tricks to hold me over so I can show people tricks while I'm still learning more.

Also, how long did it take you to get the general handling down? I've been practicing consistently the past week and I've had immense improvement cause when I started I didn't even know how to shuffle. Anyways, I guess I'm just looking for some advice and wondering how long it takes so I can grow my patience etc. Thanks.
TKE
View Profile
Veteran user
FL
346 Posts

Profile of TKE