We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Training doves. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

abracadanny
View Profile
New user
69 Posts

Profile of abracadanny
I recently got two doves. I tried using Dan Sperry's method to train them for about 3 weeks, and it didn't work. Does anyone else have any advice on how to train them to fly back?
Alexo
View Profile
Regular user
Long Island, NY
112 Posts

Profile of Alexo
Keep in mind that when you first get them, they're probably going to be too afraid of you to be able to train. The only thing that really works is persistence.

How soon after you got them did you try training them? Where did you get them from, and how old are they?
abracadanny
View Profile
New user
69 Posts

Profile of abracadanny
I started training them about a month after I got them.
1906Alpha1906
View Profile
Special user
North Cacky Lack
516 Posts

Profile of 1906Alpha1906
Hi, Abracadanny - sometimes there are doves that just won't learn. It's just the way it is with animals (and people for that matter! *haha*). As much as you train and try, sometimes it won't work regardless.
As Alexo stated, if the doves are new to you, you have to establish a 'relationship' with the bird first. They have to know they can trust you first before you start trying to train them. It takes time is all. Dove magic is hard work, and maintaining a consistent training schedule is a must with animals.