The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » No more compromises (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chris Becker
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
371 Posts

Profile of Chris Becker
For as long as you have been doing magic, have you been ok compromising the effect for lack of a method?

Don't you want to perform real magic? Card tricks? Strike vanish? Vernon wand spin? Bobo switch? Or worse (silks, mostly)? I'm so over this. What I envision is incredibly difficult to accomplish, I just have no energy to perform trickery anymore. To fool all magicians!

Who else would do what Christian Bale did in the movie The Prestige? Who would at least build Juan Mayoral's magic wand? Or a select few of Tommy Wonder's pieces, like the card, watch & wallet or the nest of boxes (version 3). A Durania shell.

I'm not just talking practice. I've been practicing finger manipulation for 20 years and there's not much I really cannot do here.

But why can't YOU just close your left hand right now, have a coin materialize in it, and open the hand again. It drives me absolutely crazy... No more funny moves!

Anyone else share that feeling?
- - -
<BR>Cards don't cheat people. People cheat people.
landmark
View Profile
Inner circle
within a triangle
5156 Posts

Profile of landmark
But you can. At least as far as your audience is concerned.
HerbLarry
View Profile
Special user
Poof!
731 Posts

Profile of HerbLarry
Hey Chris
I've felt the same thing so I've decided to stock up on wolfs bane and chicken blood.
You know why don't act naive.
tommy
View Profile
Eternal Order
Devil’s Island
16365 Posts

Profile of tommy
Oh God not another one. Conjurers are falling like flies as the delusion of grandeur virus spreads though the land of magic.
If there is a single truth about Magic, it is that nothing on earth so efficiently evades it.

Tommy
The One
View Profile
Veteran user
325 Posts

Profile of The One