The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The tricks are on me! » » Complete Beginner - Where to start performing? (17 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
MrHoudini666
View Profile
New user
66 Posts

Profile of MrHoudini666
I am 21 years old, and have been studying Mentalism for about 3 months.

Although I am a beginner, I would like to start performing simple routines at this point.

I live in Alberta, Canada. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get started? I am a little nervous about doing this at an open mic, because those are usually for musicians...

I would prefer to perform for groups less than 20 people. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!!
goatears
View Profile
Veteran user
400 Posts

Profile of goatears
I have the same question regarding close up!
Yehoshua
View Profile
Regular user
Turnersville, NJ
159 Posts

Profile of Yehoshua
To the both of you, my advice would be to start performing for friends, family...perhaps at family outings like birthdays or holiday parties. Then, once you get a bit more comfortable and confident in your routining and performance, seek out events such as Open Mic nights, and the like. Believe me, the crowd might appreciate the change of pace, and the fact that you'd likely be the only performer in your category should comfort you. Realize this means the crowd won't be comparing you to any other magician or mentalist performing that night, as there won't likely be one. Hope this helps!
StephenP
View Profile
Regular user
103 Posts

Profile of StephenP