The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The Good News! » » Mentalism & Skepticism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
ThePhilosopher
View Profile
Regular user
Menlo Park, CA
122 Posts

Profile of ThePhilosopher
It has been quite a while since I have been able to visit the Café, but I wanted to throw out an idea for consideration. Derren Brown, in my opinion, is an excellent performer, talented showman, and—from what I have heard—a very nice guy. I think he has done a great job restoring interest in mentalism (that is my field of work) and also in debunking psychics, new agers, and the rest. The problem is that “the rest” includes Christianity.

On one hand, I completely understand the natural skepticism one develops as a mentalist (Derren also has his personal reasons as he mentioned in his book “Tricks of the Mind”), because I see the same inclination in myself after years of performing. I was a professional mentalist and still has shows with some frequency. It is my firm conviction that mentalism is only entertaining if there is some level of belief. My personal approach is to blur the line between real demonstrations of psychological effects (psy forces, outs, etc) and those done with trickery. Over the years I have seen how easy it is to manipulate the human mind, and find that many people use the same techniques we do, but pass themselves off as the real thing (new age, psychics, and even some religious groups).

This skepticism does not make me doubt my own convictions (after all, I have been in the seminary for 5 years), but it does make me wonder about the nature of skepticism itself. Any thoughts, especially from fellow mentalists?
- Nathan
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9987 Posts

Profile of funsway