The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Look at your marketing material (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jon Gallagher
View Profile
Veteran user
Elmwood, Illinois
395 Posts

Profile of Jon Gallagher
I just got something in the mail from a friend in another state. He knew that I'm a former English teacher, and he wanted me to check the letter and brochure that he sends out to potential clients.

I'm glad he did.

In two pages of copy, he had 14 misspelled words. He had one paragraph that ran 261 words without a single punctuation mark. He had seven grammatical errors in the brochure alone.

Now you may think that doesn't matter if you're saying the right things. But with that many errors, many decision makers, especially if you're selling your act to schools, will just toss it, figuring if you can't write a simple letter, you probably aren't very good at doing magic (or whatever you're offering) either. You don't get a second chance to make a good first impression and if your first impression is in written form, then you should make sure it's the best it can be.

The solution is simple. Contact a local person (teacher, newspaper writer, or anyone else who has a lot of experience with the written English language), and have them look it over. Don't just assume that you can put something on paper just because you have the best double lift in three states. Get some professional help.
www.jongallagher.com

Hey! I'm finally a Dot Com!
TheDean
View Profile
Inner circle
Reno, Nevada
2164 Posts

Profile of TheDean
Write-on brother! Smile

Just kidding... seriously, I am probably the WORST offender of the English language, but when it come to sending out professional materials, I ALWAYS run it past my editor.

No-kidding, he has saved my patoot on sooooo many occasions!