The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Umbrella cockatoo (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mattmccoy
View Profile
Loyal user
203 Posts

Profile of mattmccoy
Hey everyone,

I have been searching for an umbrella cockatoo. I am a college student in Myrtle Beach SC and have always wanted one as a companion more so than just as a prop for magic. I help produce magic conventions now but don't really perform. Is anyone looking for an adoption father or selling some at a discounted rate. The price of them has always kept me away.....

thanks,

-Matt
Cyberqat
View Profile
Inner circle
You can tell I work on the net from my
2210 Posts

Profile of Cyberqat
Okay... first, I am going to discourage you...

(1) The cost of bird and cage is the LEAST of the costs of owning an exotic bird. If you can't afford those I am very concerned as to whether you can afford the upkeep. Vet bills for exotics are expensive. Figure any vet visit probably starts at $150 - $200 depending on your area and could go up... and that's just one area of cost.

(2) Be VERY aware of what you are getting into. Birds are psychologically different then dogs or cats. I recommend reading this book to start with:
http://www.amazon.com/Guide-Well-Behaved......6&sr=1-1

All large hook bills need serious emotional support to be happy and healthy. if you don't have time to devote to this bird you aren't a good fit.
Cockatoos are only *moreso* when it comes to attention. Macaws and many of the other large hookbills can be left to their own devices *some* of the time. Cocaktoos however
are very very very emotionally dependent on you. And if you arent there for them, they can become very self-destructive.

This is a life-long+ commitment. Large hookbills have basically human life spans, so consider whether you really want to take care of a permanent 3 year old for your entire life.