The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » More Time for Magic after the Navy (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SlyArnie
View Profile

0 Posts

Profile of SlyArnie
First off, I would like to thank Slyhand (Alec Negri) for introducing me to this great forum!!!

My name is Arnie and I have been practicing magic since March of 1993. It all started when a friend of mine, in the Navy, showed me Color Monte and made a silk disappear in front of me. Ummmm...I "convinced" him to tell me the secrets and teach me. Over the next 3 days we hit the 4 different magic shops in the San Diego area. Ironically, it seemed we went from worst to first...ending up at Brad Burt's Magic Shop the 3rd day. Brad quickly realized I was just beginning and put "Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic" in my hands and I just took off reading everything I could get my hands on...

...that lead to my first performances at the Enlisted Club in Long Beach, California. From there I was transferred to Sasebo, Japan and quickly became a hit where most of my weekends were booked when I was in port and I was always doing performances for the base and my ships' Morale, Welfare, and Recreation functions...

...around 1999 I was still doing shows for my commands, but concentrated on my Navy career as an instructor where I incorporated my magic in lesson plans. I always started with a short routine and promised my students that if they achieved a 90% or higher at the end of the sections I taught...I would teach them a couple of self-working card effects. It was often comical the thanks I would get when a student would graduate and would tell me their sole motivation was my magic...

...anyway, I did my last performance for my last sea-going command in December of 2006 and then for South Beloit High School in the Fall of 2009.