We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hey, from Indianapolis (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

newlyn
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of newlyn
Hi all, new member from Indianapolis. I am relatively new to magic in a way. A little background:

Back some 21 years ago I was fascinated with magic as a kid and would go to the local magic shop and drool over everything. I'd save up every penny I could sometimes even going as far as to go collect aluminum cans out of trash in my neighborhood to be able to buy things there. Even though the owner of the shop was very nice he always pushed me toward the props geared more towards little kids, like the sliding pencil box (one of the few I actually remember). Unfortunately, for me this ended with my interests waning, I was excited that, when I watched magic, the performers always seemed so skillful. At my young age, after enough of these types of tricks I began to feel that the skillful show was completely an act and so I stopped buying things.

Now, over the past couple of years I have regained an interest in card magic and have begun to learn some basic sleights. Apart from occasionally performing a couple of tricks for friends or family, my interest is less in performing and more in understanding every aspect of a technique and using these in ways that I haven't seen them. I also really enjoy coming up with a story for a trick or small routine even though I may only perform this one or two times. As always, with real life getting in the way I don't progress as quickly as I would like. That, and the lack of a local magic shop (really? In a metro area of 1.8 million we don't have 1 local magic shop?) has led me to seek out a nice online community to be involved with as time permits.

Outside of magic, I am a research Masters student in computer science and work as a teachers assistant at IUPUI.
Mary Mowder