The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Theatrical Magic for a production of "The Winter's Tale" (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Darcy Brown
View Profile
New user
Melbourne, Australia
58 Posts

Profile of Darcy Brown
Also posted this over at the Grand Illusions forum:

I have been performing and studying magic for a little over 15 years, and am currently completing full-time actor training at the National Institute of Dramatic Art (NIDA) in Sydney, Australia.

We have just begun rehearsals for our Second Year production of Shakespeare's "The Winter's Tale". In the roles of Autolycus (rogue, peddlar, and trickster), and Time, our director wants me to incorporate a good deal of theatrical magic into the play.

I am looking for methods, manuscripts, lecture notes, any sources and ideas, for achieving the Floating Light Bulb effect, and potentially a spinning/floating gramaphone record (Cleomines and Dion return and "play" the record as the prophesy of the Oracle of Delphi). We are working in a fully-equiped theatre, with highly skilled lighting, design, and production students and teachers, so any major rigging or lighting considerations won't be an issue.

Any help in pointing me in the right direction would be hugely appreciated!
Best Regards,
Darcy
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22173 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
For the Floating Light Bulb, buy the booklet "Burling Hull's Miracle Floating Light Bulb". If you need the actual Floating Light Bulb, you can purchase that from Abbott's Magic. http://www.abbottmagic.com They sell the the book as well.

Never witnessed a floating Gramaphone, so you are on your own there.
Vietnam Veteran 1967, Sgt. E-5

Graduate of Chavez College of Prestidigitation and Showmanship

"Magic With A Twist Of Comedy"
Darcy Brown
View Profile
New user
Melbourne, Australia
58 Posts

Profile of Darcy Brown