The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Where is Roy Kueppers? » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

 Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3~4~5~6~7~8 [Next]
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24107 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
Do remember what month and year you made the order?
Chessmann
View Profile
Inner circle
3988 Posts

Profile of Chessmann
Quote:
On 2011-12-15 01:32, billappleton wrote:
After waiting four months waiting for an order I sent Roy an email asking what was up. No reply.

So I complained to the Better Business Bureau, The US Postal Inspector, PayPal, and the Canadian Consumer Protection Agency.

At this point I just want the money back.


No, no, Bill, remember what we were told earlier in this thread - you're just not cut out for custom coins. Smile
My ex-cat was named "Muffin". "Vomit" would be a better name for her. AKA "The Evil Ball of Fur".
rklew64
View Profile
Inner circle
1263 Posts

Profile of rklew64
I think it is so cool of you Dynamike to work Pro Bono Publico for all those still not with their coins. Does it extend to online retailers?
BanzaiMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
1598 Posts

Profile of BanzaiMagic
Quote:
On 2011-12-15 01:32, billappleton wrote:
At this point I just want the money back.


If you are unable to get a refund, please update this thread with your experience. Taking too long in delivering a quality product is one thing - dishonestly keeping someone's money when no product is delivered is on quite another level of bad business practices IMO.
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24107 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
Quote:
On 2011-12-15 18:30, rklew64 wrote:
I think it is so cool of you Dynamike to work Pro Bono Publico for all those still not with their coins. Does it extend to online retailers?

Only if I was part of it and I see another complaint about that business. A couple of years ago someone started a thread on the worst magic shops. I noticed the same magic shop that tried to scam me was listed. It turned into a long thread with at least 15 pages with so many major complaints dealing with that one magic shop only. But now the thread no longer exist.

I ordered a DVD from the certain magic shop by Paypal. I tried emailing and calling them in two weeks to see what was taking so long. I received no response. In about a month I canceled my order with them through PayPal. A lot of members did not cancel their orders within the 6 week period. They never received their product or any response back from the company.

After the thread was deleted I started another thread about the shop: http://www.themagiccafe.com/forums/viewt......forum=98
caubeck
View Profile
Elite user
402 Posts

Profile of caubeck
About a week ago I wrote to Roy about a problem with my Cartel Coins. He very generously mailed me, the next day, a free replacement coin plus teflon and an abrasive material to clean my set. In my experience his customer service is excellent.
billappleton
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Gatos, California
1154 Posts

Profile of billappleton
The federal law for people doing business here in the USA is pretty clear:

If You Do not Receive the Merchandise

The FTC rule states that the business must ship your merchandise within 30 days after the business receives your properly completed order, or within the advertised time period.

A business that cannot meet this deadline must notify you and give you the option of canceling the order and a free method of doing so (such as a postage-paid card). If you tell the business to cancel the order, it must cancel the order and refund your cash, check, or money order within seven work days (or credit your credit card account within one billing period).

If the new shipping date is 30 days or less after the original deadline for shipping, the business can assume that you agree to the delay in delivery if you do not respond to the notice of delay. The business must get your agreement to any delay over 30 days.

The FTC rule also requires the mail order business to have a reasonable basis for their claims about shipping dates.
mysta-magic
View Profile
New user
CANADA
27 Posts

Profile of mysta-magic
Hi Everyone ! It's me Roy Kueppers. I rarely visit the Café but was told of this thread and I decided to check it out. It's saddens me to read the negative posts more than you know and I feel the need to reply with some explanation and insight. First I'd like to say that there is nothing in the world I would rather do than what I am doing. I have dedicated my career to Manufacturing Magic products for the past 22 years and what a great ride it's been ! I am still as passionate today about it as I was when I started. I first became interested in Magic at the age of 10 when I received my first Magic kit. My Father was a Tool & Die maker and I followed his footsteps in machining Tools & Dies and Molds for plastic mold injection etc. I then combined my knowledge as a performer with my talents as a Machinist and My Coin Gaffing Career was Born. Not trying to bore you all with this but just want you to first understand how much passion I have for Magic.

I will try to briefly explain some of the factors that contribute to delays in orders, lack of communication etc in my next post that I will work on now !

Okay, I'm back ! I want you to know that my intentions are always of the purist nature with every customer. I care about each customer and realize I wouldn't be doing what I love each day if it weren't for them. There are so many factors that take part in delays that it's very hard to explain. But I'll try. Although everything I make is Magic related, not everything is Gaffed coins and Wands and coin boxes. I also manufacture hundreds of products for other Magicians that most of you are unaware of. Therefore the delays are sometimes because certain machines in my shop are unavailable and are set up for other projects. I do have some stock of my product line ready to ship but not very much. The stocked items are usually the "common collection" items and very few "silver collection" items. Even some of the common collection items are not stocked. It depends how many extras I have time to run off when I am filling an order of a specific item. I really try to reply to all of my emails as I receive them or at least within 24 hours but on average, I am receiving approx. 40 or so Magic related emails. There, some do get missed and by the next day I am so flooded with so many emails again that they become forgotten. I make dozens of notes a day in regards to who to respond to and what items have not been received etc. but there are only so many hours in a day and I need to separate my email hours from my shop hours. It's a Catch 22 because I need to reply to all my emails and I also need to be in the shop. I also try to answer the phone each time it rings ( about 25 times a day ). Anyone that knows me would agree that I am a people person and enjoy talking to whoever calls. I always answer questions over the phone and hear what people have to say or ask. I think customer relations are very important in this business. My wife helps me in the office with filling orders, packaging etc. and does what she can to help with emails but honestly, it has to be me that replies. This operation is more than a typical online retail shop where the order is received, packaged and shipped. Actually that does happen daily and my wife does help with that part but many of my phone calls and emails are related to custom orders and require me to assist and Quote etc. It has to be that way. I would want to deal directly with my craftsman if I wanted to have something custom made as well. So this takes up much of my time each day. Once again, If I'm not in the shop, the orders aren't being produced.

When I set a timeframe for a customer such as 1 week, I am not trying to make a promise that I can't keep. It is my full intention to keep that promise and realistically, the order may only take 2 or 3 hours to make so it is a very reasonable delivery date to reach. It's what happens the following days that bring on the delay. There is a long list of things that come into play that delay an order such as a machine break down, or a repeat order on a released product that a dealer or distributor is in great need for, or I have to order materials or spend more time on the phone with customers than a normal day etc. When I fill a large order of a product, I may have it scheduled as a 2 day job on a machine and then have a custom order scheduled right after it on the same machine. This would be great but sometimes, another large order of the same product comes in and I keep that machine running since its already set up to fill that next order. It now delays the custom order. This is one of many examples of how an order gets behind.

I know this is getting long and not sure if any of you are interested in the details so I will wrap it up in my next post with what I am doing to make myself more efficient and and what steps I'm taking to keep everyone happy.

I had a dream 22 years ago of what I would like my shop to be some day and it is almost there! It has been a long and expensive road but the reward is incredible! Everything I sell is manufactured by me and in my shop. I have many machines in my shop and I keep adding more to reduce delays in shipping orders. I want to be more efficient and am constantly striving to achieve that. I recently purchased a couple more machines and am now setting them up for production. This also causes some delays in orders but it has to be done to move forward. I promise you all that I am doing my very best to meet delivery deadlines and will find ways to be more organized to do so. I know that I need to structure things a bit differently to accomplish this and will do that. I receive many emails from satisfied customers each day so I know that I am on the right path and that most of my customers are happy with the service, delivery & quality of my products. But I do also occasionally receive emails of concern or disappointment and that I need to control by looking at what I can do to make them as happy as the others. I realize that it is impossible to please everyone and some may choose other coin gaffers products over mine and I am completely okay with that. I do not claim to be the best nor do I think that I am. I have absolutely no issues with Todd or Jamie and respect them as I think they do me!

I also want to mention a couple other common issues that delay orders. The postal system lets me down a great deal and I speak directly with them on occasion about it but I get nowhere. I have a 1% "lost in the mail rate". The post office tells me this is not bad but trying telling that to a customer that has waited for a few weeks for a package that they were promised would arrive in a week or less as per the post offices delivery standards. Not easy to explain because the customer either believes me and allows me to reship or refund in which I lose either way because I will do what the customer chooses. The only solution to this is that each buyer pays the extra for tracking but even that system isn't the greatest through the post office because you have to wait 30 days before filing a claim. UPS courier is the best because but expensive. It can at least be tracked along the way. The post office tracking only shows proof of shipment but will not track day to day. Unfortunately, although the post office is so huge as a business in comparison to me and yet they have delivery issues also.

I would also like to ask that if you do not get a reply to your emails, please be persistent and email again until I do reply. As you know, when an email comes in, it is at the top of the list so when you resend the email, it will be at the top again. A big concern of mine as well with emails is that sometimes, they are sent to my spam or junk mail folders and I never actually receive them in my inbox. I definitely need to check these folders more often as I sometimes find them weeks or even months later. I realize that the senders are assuming I receive them and are upset with not receiving a reply.

In final I want to let you all know that I will always do my best to keep all customers happy and now that I have visited this thread, I am more aware of the issues and will strive even harder to do better. That is a promise! I have a 17 year old son named Shawn Roy Kueppers that is learning under me and will hopefully carry on the business thru the next generation. I myself will not retire from this unless Health stops me.

I would like very much to see this thread end by giving nobody a reason to add negative comments and that is now my goal! Sorry to those that have been disappointed and thanks for pointing out your concerns and making me more aware and thanks also to those that have replied with positive comments !

Sincerely,
Roy Kueppers
BanzaiMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
1598 Posts

Profile of BanzaiMagic
Roy,

First, thanks for taking the time to post here on the Café.

Everything you wrote confirms my previously held positive impressions regarding your business practices.

My only suggestion to you is that you should ALWAYS estimate longer than you think it will take to do your custom work and that you should include a standardized message in every email concisely stating what you wrote above. If you lose a customer or two because of it you will gain immeasurably more in quality of life.

If you would like some assistance in composing a concise statement to go in your email, pm me and I'll help.

Again, thanks for taking the time to post here.

Alan
bowers
View Profile
Inner circle
Oakboro N.C.
7039 Posts

Profile of bowers
Roy
I'm glad you came on here too.I've been a customer of yours a while also.
Even when it takes longer than you say, the coins I get from you are excellent and well worth the wait. I support you all the way, buddy. Keep up the good work.
todd bowers from Charlotte, NC
magicalaurie
View Profile
Inner circle
2863 Posts

Profile of magicalaurie
I have ordered from Roy in the past as well, and when he was ready to get to work on my coins, he sent an email, asking me to call him. We discussed the work thoroughly. I was impressed with his sincere interest in the work. One man can only stretch himself so far, and Roy seems extremely flexible. The man is very busy, and came on this thread quickly, early on, page 1, to explain himself. That in itself was an unusual and quite open and customer-centered response. A little benefit of the doubt, a grain of salt, a touch of grace and empathy, an ounce of patience, and a little homework from the customer's side could only harmonize. Would be nice to see more people working in that direction.

Laurie
mysta-magic
View Profile
New user
CANADA
27 Posts

Profile of mysta-magic
Thanks Todd ! Always nice talking to you on the phone and appreciate your business !
mysta-magic
View Profile
New user
CANADA
27 Posts

Profile of mysta-magic
Thanks for the Post Laurie ! It's toughter than people realize to produce the amount of products that I do and basically be a one man show ! Having said that, I also understand that customer service is very important and can only do my best to try and make that second to none !
J-Mac
View Profile
Inner circle
Ridley Park, PA
5332 Posts

Profile of J-Mac
Great to see a reply from you here, Roy! Thanks for commenting.

Take care.

Jim
Atom3339
View Profile
Inner circle
Spokane, WA
3242 Posts

Profile of Atom3339
Roy, I don't know you, but figured you're a first class guy. Also figured time management was an issue. Looks like you're doing better in that area. And figured you just needed more help! An assistant, in addition to your wife, or an apprentice to carry on your legacy. Glad you now have your son involved. By far the biggest problem you've been having is timely delivery with your products, summed up: Keeping your word. I keep thinking it would be wise for you to adopt the motto: "Under Promise, Over Deliver" as your mantra.

Thank you for taking your time to address this Board. It would be a real privilege to meet you someday. Tom
TH

Occupy Your Dream
magicalaurie
View Profile
Inner circle
2863 Posts

Profile of magicalaurie
You're very welcome, Roy. Smile
billappleton
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Gatos, California
1154 Posts

Profile of billappleton
Quote:
On 2011-12-15 19:34, BanzaiMagic wrote:
please update this thread with your experience.


My complaint was resolved satisfactorily thanks Roy.
bowers
View Profile
Inner circle
Oakboro N.C.
7039 Posts

Profile of bowers
Thanks Roy. Hope you and your family have very merry Christmas.
todd
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24107 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
I can understand you did not like the negative remarks Roy. No one had any intentions to hurt your your business. The ones who were unsatisfied with your service (including myself) wanted to discuss this openly so there would be a solution. Thanks for taking your time to respond again on this thread.

It is good your wife is helping you. I am glad you are going to have your son assist you with your business too. Earlier I did give advise it would be better if you had help. I had a strong feeling you were behind with orders when I received mine at a late notice. Some members were thinking since they received their orders on schedule, you needed no help. I do know you have bulk loads to finish by seeing your products with Jay Sankey, Mak Magic, etc.

I do feel BanzaiMagic was right when he posted, "My only suggestion to you is that you should ALWAYS estimate longer than you think it will take to do your custom work and that you should include a standardized message in every email concisely stating what you wrote above." That way, if an order is behind, your customer will understand because you noted it to them in advance.
rklew64
View Profile
Inner circle
1263 Posts

Profile of rklew64
Want to say something but better not say anything.

Happy Holidays everyone. Oy Vey.
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Where is Roy Kueppers? » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes)
 Go to page [Previous]  1~2~3~4~5~6~7~8 [Next]
[ Top of Page ]
All content & postings Copyright © 2001-2021 Steve Brooks. All Rights Reserved.
This page was created in 0.24 seconds requiring 5 database queries.
The views and comments expressed on The Magic Café
are not necessarily those of The Magic Café, Steve Brooks, or Steve Brooks Magic.
> Privacy Statement <

ROTFL Billions and billions served! ROTFL