The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The May 2011 entrée: Mark Lewis » » Humility in Children’s Entertainers » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ken Northridge
View Profile
Inner circle
Atlantic City, NJ
2225 Posts

Profile of Ken Northridge
From time to time I have run into children’s entertainers in these type of forums who claim, “my audience never gets out of control.” The clear implication is they have reached such a level of professionalism in this field that all their shows are perfect.

I’ve been entertaining children for over 30 years, have read many books, (including the opening chapter of Open Sesame Smile) experimented with many techniques and strategies. And still, from time to time, for whatever reason, I will have an audience, or audience member, that will get out of control.

There are many reasons for this and some have to do with the society will live in today. Some children simply have not been taught anything about discipline. There are parents today who really believe they are hurting their children by telling them no, or feel its wrong to bog down there creative minds with rules.

In my maturity, I’ve come to the conclusion that to be a children’s entertainer you must maintain a fair amount of humility with ones self. I’ve learned not take an occasional bad show to heart, especially when I will often do the same exact show later that day and be treated with total respect. I’ve learned not to take entertaining children so seriously and find it amusing how rude children can be sometimes. After all, I’m the one with the last laugh; I’m the one with the money in my pocket at the end of the show!

Mr. Lewis, it is obvious to anyone that will bother to read your words that you are master in this field. However, would you admit to having a bad show from time to time? Do you find that a bit of humility is an asset to a children’s entertainer?