The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Rings, strings & things » » Steel Ball and Tube (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

blackelhoff
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of blackelhoff
I am a complete beginner to magic.
I just bought the steel ball and tube, and am having trouble with steeling the gimmick.
I want to end up clean so that I can hand out the ball and tube, but there is always a noise when I steal the gimmick.
Any advice?
DaveM
View Profile
Special user
Germany
788 Posts

Profile of DaveM
Like you, this was one of a dozen of my first purchases and could NEVER get it to work right until someone filled me in on something very valuable. This is one of those tricks that's 10% technique, 90% presentation.

Your eyes are THE key to this effect going smoothly. ALWAYS remember that the audience will look where you look(for at least a split second). So, with that said, don't concentrate on the "hot" hand.

What I have done is to let the spectator take the outer tube and ball out of your semi-cupped hand, with the inner tube simply remaining in place and falling into finger palm position.

You could always just buy one of the locking models from Viking and not worry about ditching the gimmick.

All the best,

Dave
Nikos
View Profile
Regular user
115 Posts

Profile of Nikos
I have a model that in order to release the inner tube you must turn it clockwise to release it. It is the opposite of the normal process of unscrewing something. This makes it very hard for someone to detect even accidentally. The spectators should never even suspect this if it is performed correctly.
As for the noise you could try rubbing candle wax along the shaft of the inner tube as this will help mask the "talking" when you need to ditch it.
Crippen
View Profile
New user
Washington, D.C.
79 Posts

Profile of Crippen
Docc Hilford has a nice handling (and incredible routine/performance) in his Ball & Tube booklet.